Jurassic World review

movies

The park has opened again, and by now you would think these people would learn their lesson.

Jurassic World is directed by Chris Treverrow, who only has a few films under his belt. The film is basically about how 22 years has passed since the events of the previous Jurassic park and there has been a new park titled “Jurassic World”. It revolves around these two kids who get sent to see their aunt, Claire (Bryce Dallas Howard) who manages the park. There has been a recent hybrid created called Indominus Rex which appears dangerous, and obviously in good old Jurassic Park fashion, things go down.

Chris Pratt plays Owen who is a guy who is a Velociraptor expert who can train these creatures (I know right so awesome!). He was easily the best character in the film, which is expected because Chris Pratt is so likable. Unfortunately he was the only human I liked in this film, because the real stars of the films were the dinosaurs.

Like how cool is this bad boy. He is eating a FREAKIN’ GREAT WHITE SHARK DO YOU KNOW HOW BIG THOSE COOL THINGS ARE LIKE WHAT!

Also the Velociraptors were so cool, and be prepared to be extremely attached to them but cry at the same time about it.

I wish I could talk about another cool dinosaur but that will be heading into spoiler territory so I can’t go there. The kids were sufficient enough in this film, with some scenes between the two brothers being sweet which is hard for me to feel when it comes to children in film.

Bryce Dallas Howard’s character, Claire, is alright but I felt she was essentially a blend of cliches put into one character. If I tell you she is a hardworking manager, think of every cliche ever placed about a woman in a role similar and you will get it right. I must say I am glad she was not useless in this film, with scenes of her actually helping out but being the spectrum of reason. Those heel running skills though… girl, teach me!

Now the dinosaur hybrid was a very interesting and cool design, with it essentially being a T-rex hybrid with arms that is actually long and retractable. It sort of reminded me of the 1998 Godzilla (forgive me for mentioning it), but actually scary.

I will not compare this to the original films because that is unfair, as this film has its own merits with cool effects and some moments which were fairly touching (the herbivores will make you upset, because it nearly killed me watching it). It is a summer blockbuster film essentially, but I am unsure if it earned the title of ‘classic’ but I say it is a film that one should at least check out in the cinema.

I shall give this 3.5 Velociraptors out of 5.

Leave a comment